Home > Local News > Michigan??????????

Michigan??????????

Michigan??????????
I live in Michigan, but I don’t get why so many people visit it every year. I mean, it’s just a regular state, just like every other state( except Hawaii, that’s an island). Sure, a lot of people come for the Tulip Time festival, but other than that, I don’t know why they come. Please help me!!!!!!!!

Answer:

Answer by Barkley Hound
I would love to visit Mackinac Island in Michigan.

Categories: Local News Tags:
  1. cubanrebelgirl
    January 26, 2011 at 10:43 am

    As a Michigander for 9 years, I can tell you that I think it’s one of the most beautiful states I’ve ever lived in and visited.

    Now, that being said, I’m wondering where in MI you live. I lived on both the east and west costs and can tell you that the west coast is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more scenic than the east coast.

    Besides that, lots of people have second homes and stuff in MI. (I, unfortunately, am not one of those.)

    So in a nutshell I think tourism is high in MI because of: scenic qualities (MI has the most lakes of any state); convenience (tons of Chicago people vacation in MI); and price (it’s relatively cheap).

    Anyhoo, that’s what I think.

  2. Ken E
    January 26, 2011 at 11:40 am

    G’day from Australia. I’ve never been to Michigan but I’ve looked at it on Google Earth and read up a bit about the place. What’s really wrong with it? Lots of nice lakes and forests so you have fishing and boating, which a lot of people like. The University of Michigan is well regarded round the world. Maybe the industrial base isn’t all it once was. I would not want to be there in winter but I was born and raised in the tropics. I would not mind having a look around if I was in the USA in the summer. Henry Ford museum might be worth a look if it is still there.

    I bet it’s a lot different to California, Georgia, Nevada, Texas or New Mexico so maybe people are looking for something a bit different.

  3. Daisyk65
    January 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I love to visit my dad

  4. sjeboyce
    January 26, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Dont know myself…i was pretty bored there…my husbands job moved us there for 6 months

  5. B
    January 26, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Most folks go to Michigan for the outdoors. It’s cooler in the summer than southern states. Snow sports in the winter are fun. (Even though skiing is fun, it’s certainly not that of the Rockies, etc.)

    To appreciate Michigan, go to Gary, IN … Detroit … South Bend, IN, (In fact most any place in northern Indiana from south of Lk Michigan to Indy … or central Illinois .. no offense here.) You do need to get out of the big towns in Michigan to get to know Michigan’s outdoors.

  6. The Cat
    January 26, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Take pride in where you live. Why do people go to New York? California? Montana? Every place has something to offer.

    We have more lakes than any state in the union.

    We have more coastline than any other state, including Florida and California.

    The Great Lakes are the largest sources of freshwater in the United States.

    We host the biggest Art Fair in the country.

    It’s the birthplace of Motown, punk rock, and techno music. It’s natives include Bob Seger, Diana Ross, Alice Cooper, Kid Rock, Madonna, Ted Nugent, Uncle Kracker, Iggy Pop and Aretha Franklin.

    We have Sleeping Bear Dunes, another singularly fascinating location.

    We are a unique two-part state.

    Mackinaw Island has the most beautiful lilac festival ever seen and is one of the few remaining places where cars are strictly prohibited, helping to preserve it’s natural beauty.

    We host the shore-to-shore trail ride. A 220 mile horseback ride from Lake Huron to Lake Michigan.

    Bronner’s Christmas shop is the largest in the world. I have seen billboards for it in Orlando, FL.,

    The Mackinac Bridge is the longest two tower suspension bridge between anchorages in the Western Hemisphere.

    This was the home of Rosa Parks from 1965 until hear death.

    The birthplace of Henry Ford

    ‘Nuff said..I wonder what states you go visit and why?

    The grass is always greener……

  7. theunexpecteduniverse
    March 28, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Don’t believe their lies. Michigan is a horrible place. It’s deathly cold in the winter and makes constant attempts to kill you, bug infested and ridiculously humid in the summer, and is so damn flat it makes me want to shoot myself. I would kill for a mountain. And no, that little hill over there you guys CALL a mountain….don’t not fucking count.

    (too harsh?…) eh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

